Productions

Scottish Dance Theatre Ritualia

RITUALIA by Colette Sadler

Colette Sadler was invited to work with Scottish Dance Theatre in a reimagining of Igor Stravinsky's Les Noces, originally premiered in Paris in 1923 by Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. Sadler's interpretation of Bronislava Nijinska's feminist cultural landmark transforms the gender thematics of the original ballet by introducing the idea of androgyny as its point of departure. Evoking and celebrating the notion of hybridity, exploring iconic artificiality, presentation and fashion, RITUALIA is set to be a thought-provoking visual feast. 

 

"An utterly absorbing, undeniably fresh vision of the future" The Scotsman ★★★★★

Colette’s creative team includes Dramaturg Assaf Hochman, Costume Designer Rike Zöllner, Light Designer Samuli Laine and Choreographic Assistance and artistic advice from Leah Marojevic.

Running time: 30 minutes approx.

"A visually striking, astutely clever, witty addition to their repertoire" The Herald ★★★★


Performance dates in 2019

RITUALIA is currently available to tour.

Double Bill (RITUALIA & The Circle by Emanuel Gat)
Fri 03 May 2019 - Sat 04 May 2019
Dundee Rep, Dundee UK 8pm
Tickets here

Double Bill (RITUALIA & The Circle by Emanuel Gat)
Fri 24 May 2019 - Sat 25 May 2019
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh UK 7.30pm
Tickets here

Double Bill (RITUALIA & The Circle by Emanuel Gat)
Sat 01 Jun 2019
Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden UK 7.30pm
Tickets here

Double Bill (RITUALIA & TuTuMucky)
Fri 21 June 2019 - Sat 22 June 2019
Teatro Mayor Julio Mario Santo Domingo, Bogotá, Colombia 8pm
Tickets here 

Double Bill (RITUALIA & TuTuMucky)
Tues 25 June - Thurs 27 June 2019
Centro de las Artes 660, Santiago, Chile, 8pm
Tickets here

Double Bill (RITUALIA & TuTuMucky)
Tues 2 July – Wed 3 July 2019
Gran Teatro Nacional del Perú, Lima, Peru 8pm
Tickets (not on sale yet): www.granteatronacional.pe/

Discover Stravinsky's original short score on our Spotify.